Digital Signature Definition

A digital code (generated and authenticated by public key encryption) which is attached to an electronically transmitted document to verify its contents and the sender’s identity.

Type of Digital Signature
There are three type of Digital Signature. 1. Signing Certificate 2. Encryption Certificate 3. DGFT Certificate.
1. Signing Certificate:  Signing Certificate is used for signing purpose to for authenticate data or documents or. It will provide details of signing time, place and signer information.
2. Encryption Certificate:  This is certificate is used for protecting the data or documents. Encryption mean non-readable data conversion or protection of documents.

Class of Digital Signature:
Controller of Certifying Authority (Body of Central Govt) has specified and authorized to issue Class 3 and DGFT Digital Signatures. Digital Signatures will be issued authorized Certifying Authorities. Class 3 digital signature certificate will be issued to Individual or Organization. DGFT Digital Signature will be issued to Organization only.

Class 3A – Individual:
It is used for
–      Income Tax filing
–      Provident fund filing
–      GST filing
–      IEC Code filing
–      Some tender filing
–      Bank Auction
–      Document Signing.
–      And Many more.

Class 3B – Organization:
It is used for

–      Tender Filing
–      Bank Auction
–      Document Singing
–      Document Signing.
–      And many more.

DGFT – Organization
It is used for
–      DGFT Department communication and Scheme related or approval related filing. It will be issued only who is having IEC Certificate. IEC Code will be mapped in DGFT Digital Signature Certificate.

Related Posts

Leave a comment